Science and Technical Advisory Committee

Overview

APNEP's Scientific and Technical Advisory Committee (STAC) provides scientific and technical guidance to the Partnership on measures to restore and protect the natural resources of the Albemarle-Pamlico region. Since its inception in 2004, the STAC has worked to enhance scientific communication and outreach throughout the region.

The STAC provides scientific and technical advice in various ways, including (1) technical reports and papers, (2) discussion groups, (3) assistance in organizing merit reviews of APNEP programs and projects, (4) technical conferences and workshops, and (5) service by STAC members on APNEP subcommittees and workgroups. The Committee also acts proactively to bring the most recent scientific information to APNEP and its partners.  As an APNEP advisory committee, two representatives from the STAC serve on the Leadership Council, and STAC representatives also consult with members of the Implementation Advisory Committee.

View the STAC's Bylaws

View all Science and Technical Advisory Committee Meeting Materials

STAC Members

Name Organization Phone Number Email Address
Paul Angermeier US Geological Survey, Cooperative Fish & Wildlife Research 504-231-4501 biota@vt.edu
Donna Bilkovic Virginia Institute of Marine Science 804-684-7331 donnab@vims.edu
Lee Bodkin US Geological Survey, South Atlantic Water Science Center 919-571-4042 ljbodkin@usgs.gov
Brian Boutin The Nature Conservancy, North Carolina Chapter 252-441-2525 ext. 6 bboutin@tnc.org
Carolyn Currin  National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (ret.) 252-241-7237 carolynbeaufort@gmail.com
James "Bo" Dame Chowan University, Department of Biology 252-398-6261 damej@chowan.edu
Donald Field National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Center 252-728-8770 don.field@noaa.gov
Erin Fleckenstein North Carolina Coastal Federation, Northern Regional Office 252-473-1607 erinf@nccoast.org
Joel Fodrie University of North Carolina Institute of Marine Sciences 252-726-6841 ext 149 jfodrie@email.unc.edu
David Glenn NOAA National Weather Service, WFO Newport/Morehead City 252-223-2328 david.glenn@noaa.gov
Timothy Goodale Elizabeth City State University Department of Education 252-335-3767 tagoodale@ecsu.edu
Jane Harrison North Carolina Sea Grant 919-513-0122 jane_harrison@ncsu.edu
John Iiames U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Research 919-541-3039 iiames.john@epa.gov
Heather Jacobs Deck Sound Rivers 252-946-7211 ext 102 heather@soundrivers.org
Peter Kalla U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Science & Ecosystems 706-355-8778 kalla.peter@epa.gov
W. Judson Kenworthy National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration (Ret.) 252-646-9174 jud.kenworthy@gmail.com
R. Wilson Laney North Carolina State University, Dept of Applied Ecology 919-515-5019 rallaneys@gmail.com
Michelle Moorman U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service, Inventory & Monitoring Branch 919-856-4520, ext 31 michelle_moorman@fws.gov
Rua Mordecai South Atlantic and Southeast Conservation Blueprint 919-707-0122 rua_mordecai@fws.gov
Daniel Obenour North Carolina State University, Dept. of Civil Engineering 919-515-7702 drobenour@ncsu.edu
Hans Paerl University of North Carolina Institute of Marine Sciences 252-726-8641 ext 133

hans_paerl@unc.edu

 

Jacob Petersen-Perlman East Carolina University 252-328-6082 petersenperlmanj19@ecu.edu
Donna Schwede U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Research 919-541-3255 schwede.donna@epa.gov
Greg Taylor U.S. Natural Resources Conservation Service Soil Survey 919-873-2170 j.greg.taylor@nc.usda.gov
Doug Wakeman Meredith University, School of Business (Ret.) 984-234-2571 douglas.wakeman@gmail.com
G. Rich Whittecar Old Dominion University Department of Ocean, Earth 757-683-5197 rwhittec@odu.edu