Science and Technical Advisory Committee

Overview

APNEP's Scientific and Technical Advisory Committee (STAC) provides scientific and technical guidance to the Partnership on measures to restore and protect the natural resources of the Albemarle-Pamlico region. Since its inception in 2004, the STAC has worked to enhance scientific communication and outreach throughout the region.

The STAC provides scientific and technical advice in various ways, including (1) technical reports and papers, (2) discussion groups, (3) assistance in organizing merit reviews of APNEP programs and projects, (4) technical conferences and workshops, and (5) service by STAC members on APNEP subcommittees and workgroups. The Committee also acts proactively to bring the most recent scientific information to APNEP and its partners.  Priorities for the 2016-2018 session are described in the STAC Action Plan. As an APNEP advisory committee, two representatives from the STAC serve on the Leadership Council, and STAC representatives also consult with members of the Implementation Advisory Committee.

With the advent of Governor's Executive Order #133 (2012), STAC adopted new bylaws in August 2017.

View the STAC's Bylaws

View all Science and Technical Advisory Committee Meeting Materials

STAC Members

Name Organization Phone Number Email Address
Paul Angermeier US Geological Survey, Cooperative Fish & Wildlife Research 504-231-4501 biota@vt.edu
Lee Bodkin US Geological Survey South Atlantic Water Science Center 919-571-4042 ljbodkin@usgs.gov
Brian Boutin The Nature Conservancy, North Carolina Chapter (252) 441-2525 ext.6 bboutin@tnc.org
Eric Brittle Virginia Department of Game & Inland Fisheries 757-334-5075 eric.brittle@dgif.virginia.gov
D. Reide Corbett East Carolina University (252) 328-1367 corbett@ecu.edu
James "Bo" Dame Chowan University, Department of Biology (252) 398-6261 damej@chowan.edu
J Randall Etheridge East Carolina University Department of Engineering Center 252-737-1930 etheridgej15@ecu.edu
Donald Field National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Center 252-728-8770 don.field@noaa.gov
Erin Fleckenstein North Carolina Coastal Federation Northern Regional Office 252-473-1607 erinf@nccoast.org
Joel Fodrie University of North Carolina Institute of Marine Sciences 252-726-6841 ext 149 jfodrie@email.unc.edu
David Glenn NOAA National Weather Service WFO Newport/Morehead City 252-223-2328 david.glenn@noaa.gov
Timothy Goodale Elizabeth City State University Department of Education 252-335-3767 tagoodale@ecsu.edu
Kirk Havens College of William & Mary Virginia Institute of Marine Sci 804-684-7386 kirk@vims.edu
Jacob Hochard East Carolina University Department of Economics Institute 252-328-6386 hochardj15@ecu.edu
John Iiames U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Office of Research 919-541-3039 iiames.john@epa.gov
Heather Jacobs Deck Sound Rivers 252-946-7211 ext 102 heather@soundrivers.org
Peter Kalla U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Science & Ecosystems 706-355-8778 kalla.peter@epa.gov
Judson Kenworthy National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration (Ret.) 252-646-9174 jud.kenworthy@gmail.com
Wilson Laney North Carolina State University, Dept of Applied Ecology 919-515-5019 rallaneys@gmail.com
Robert Miller University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point (Ret.) Forestry 252-249-2827 sailingbob.bob@gmail.com
Burrell Montz East Carolina University Department of Geography 252-328-6086 montzb@ecu.edu
Michelle Moorman U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service, Inventory & Monitoring Branch 919-856-4520, ext 31 michelle_moorman@fws.gov
Rua Mordecai South Atlantic Landscape Conservation Cooperative 919-707-0122 rua_mordecai@fws.gov
Rachel Noble University of North Carolina Institute of Marine Sciences 252-726-8641 ext 150 rtnoble@email.unc.edu
Daniel Obenour North Carolina State University Department of Civil Engineer 919-515-7702 drobenour@ncsu.edu