Citizen Advisory Committee

Column Paragraph

Overview

The Citizen Advisory Committee (CAC) was re-established in 2022 and works with the Leadership Council on CCMP implementation and meaningful community engagement activities. Committee members serve as liaisons to citizens, agencies, tribes, and communities regarding environmental and natural resource management relevant to CCMP implementation. The Committee aims to engage regional communities and organizations in decision-making in order to represent diverse perspectives within the estuary partnership Management Conference.

The CAC offers expertise and on-the-ground knowledge and experience from communities all throughout the Albemarle-Pamlico Estuary System. The membership of the Citizen Advisory Committee is broad-based and include leaders and experts in natural resource management interests within the Albemarle-Pamlico estuarine system: local governments; local or regional planning; environmental equity; commerce and industry; education; recreation; tourism; fishing or seafood industry; agriculture; forestry; military; tribal organizations; local, state, or national conservation organizations; soil and water conservation districts; finance; communications and media; local and state agencies; and federal agencies.

                                                                   CAC Meeting Materials

Current Membership

Name Organization Email Address
Tom Allen (Co-Chair, LC Rep.) Old Dominion University  tallen@odu.edu
Holly White (Co-Chair, LC Rep.) NC Office of Recovery and Resiliency holly.b.white@ncdps.gov
Schumata Brown Town of Maysville schumabrown1@gmail.com
Pete Campbell U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service (Retired) 2021pvc@gmail.com
Heather Deck Sound Rivers  heather@soundrivers.org
Lora Eddy The Nature Conservancy  lora.eddy@tnc.org
Roy Flanagan Virginia Tech University / V.A. Soil & Water Conservation District  royf@vt.edu
Karen Forget Lynnhaven River Now karen@lrnow.org
Colleen Karl  Chowan Edenton Environmental Group  ckarl2010@gmail.com
Candace Lowry N.C. Commission of Indian Affairs candace.lowry@doa.nc.gov
Lindsey Smart The Nature Conservancy lindsey.smart@tnc.org
Kay Winn Farmer (Retired) ncwinn54@gmail.com