Citizen Advisory Committee

Column Paragraph


The Citizen Advisory Committee (CAC) was re-established in 2022 and works with the Leadership Council on CCMP implementation and meaningful community-led engagement activities. Committee members serve as liaisons to citizens, agencies, tribes, and communities regarding environmental and natural resource management relevant to CCMP implementation. The Committee aims to engage regional communities and organizations in decision-making in order to represent diverse perspectives within the estuary partnership Management Conference.

The CAC offers expertise and on-the-ground knowledge and experience from communities all throughout the Albemarle-Pamlico Estuary System. The membership of the Committee is broad-based and include leaders and experts in natural resource management interests within the Albemarle-Pamlico estuarine system including local governments; local or regional planning; environmental equity; commerce and industry; education; recreation; tourism; fishing or seafood industry; agriculture; forestry; military; tribal organizations; local, state, or national conservation organizations; soil and water conservation districts; finance; communications and media; local and state agencies; and federal agencies.

For further questions or interested in the CAC, please contact Steve Anderson

       CAC Meeting Materials

Current Membership

Name Organization Email Address
Tom Allen (Co-Chair, LC Rep.) Old Dominion University
Holly White (Co-Chair, LC Rep.) NC Office of Recovery and Resiliency
Schumata Brown Town of Maysville
Pete Campbell U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service (Retired)
Heather Deck Sound Rivers
Lora Eddy The Nature Conservancy
Roy Flanagan Virginia Tech University / V.A. Soil & Water Conservation District
Karen Forget Lynnhaven River Now
Pat Harris Mid-East Council of Government, Soil & Water Conservation District (retired)
Colleen Karl  Chowan Edenton Environmental Group
Candace Lowry N.C. Commission of Indian Affairs
Lindsey Smart The Nature Conservancy
Kay Winn Farmer (Retired)