The APNEP Water Resources Monitoring & Assessment Team provides the partnership with technical guidance for monitoring and assessing a subsystem of the regional ecosystem: the water column (including microscopic organisms therein) and underlying sediment.  The team for Phase 1 was established in August 2008.  The team for Phase 2 was established in February 2017.

APNEP staff support:


View all Water Resources Meetings Materials

Team Members

  • Lee Bodkin (STAC, US Geological Survey)
  • Bree Charron (STAC, North Carolina Coastal Federation)
  • Nathan Hall (STAC, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences)
  • Tammy Hill (NC Division of Water Resources)
  • Darryl Keith (US Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Research & Development)
  • A.J. Lang (NC Forest Service, Water Resources Branch)
  • Michelle Moorman (US Fish and Wildlife Service)
  • Rachel Noble (UNC Institute of Marine Sciences)
  • Daniel Obenour (STAC, NC State University, Dept. of Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering)
  • Hans Paerl (STAC, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences)
  • Justin Ridge (NC National Estuarine Research Reserve)
  • Kelly Somers (STAC, US EPA, Region 3)
  • Rich Whittecar (STAC, Old Dominion University, Dept. of Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences)