Leadership Council

Column Paragraph

The Leadership Council for the Albemarle-Pamlico National Estuary Partnership works with the program office and its host agency to support, evaluate, update, advocate and guide the implementation of APNEP's mission.

The Leadership Council was most recently restructured and reauthorized through North Carolina Governor's Executive Order #250 in 2022. The Leadership Council includes representation from various interests in the basin, as well as representatives from APNEP two other management conferences including the Science and Technical Advisory Committee (STAC) and the Citizen Advisory Committee (CAC).   

                                     Current Bylaws                LC Meeting Materials

Current Membership

Name Organization Email Address
Dr. Kirk Havens (Chair Virginia Institute of Marine Sciences, Center for Coastal Resource Management  kirk@vims.edu
Dr. Tom Allen (CAC Rep.) Old Dominion University  tallen@odu.edu
Dr. Paul Angermeier (STAC Rep.) US Geological Survey, Cooperative Fish & Wildlife Research biota@vt.edu
Dr. Carl Hershner Virginia Institute of Marine Sciences (retired) & V.A. Secretary of Natural Resources Designee carl@vims.edu
Dr. W. Judson Kenworthy (STAC Rep.) National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration (Ret.) jud.kenworthy@gmail.com
Jeff Michael  Deputy Secretary of Natural Resources; NC-DEQ, Secretary Designee jeff.michael@dncr.nc.gov
Todd Miller N.C. Coastal Federation  toddm@nccoast.org
Commander Johnnie Purify Environmental Protection Agency, EPA Representative purify.johnnie@epa.gov
Tim Watkins N.C. Dept. of Environmental Quality, Secretary Designee tim.watkins@deq.nc.gov
Holly White (CAC Rep.) NC Office of Recovery and Resiliency holly.b.white@ncdps.gov
Dr. Susan White N.C. Sea Grant  snwhite3@ncsu.edu